Fantastic Local Election Results for the Fylde Lib Dems!

Its only been a month since the Local Elections in Fylde delivered such welcome success for the Fylde Liberal Democrats, but our Councillors are already getting on with the job.

In the Local Elections in May the Fylde Lib Dems achieved the following:

  • Karen Henshaw JP was re-elected onto Fylde Borough Council to represent the residents of Kilnhouse Ward. Karen topped the poll in Kilnhouse, pushing the leader of Fylde Borough Council, Karen Buckley, into 2nd place. 
  • Also in Kilnhouse Ward, Joanne Gardner was elected onto Fylde Borough Council for the first time in an astonishing victory with Joanne clinching victory by just 3 votes, knocking the Deputy Leader of Fylde Borough Council, Roger Small, out of the Council.
  • On St. Anne's Town Council, Joanne Gardner was re-elected for Kilnhouse Ward, topping the poll with 824 votes.
  • Stephen Phillips achieved success for the first time on St. Anne's Town Council, topping the poll in Heyhouses with 575 votes.
  • Phil Morgan was elected uncontested as a Parish Councillor for Newton on the Newton with Clifton Parish Council
  • There was also a very tight race for the Fylde Borough Council Wards of Ashton, Rural East Fylde and Heyhouses with Beverley Harrison, Phil Morgan and Stephen Phillips missing out on a seat on Fylde Borough Council by just 3, 35 and 97 votes respectively.

So what is happening now on Fylde Borough Council?

  • Cllr Karen Henshaw JP has been appointed onto the following Fylde Borough Council Committees:
    • Executive Committee, which is now the key decision making forum in the new streamlined Council.
    • Licensing Committee, dealing with all licensing issues such as taxis, gambling, live music, etc.
    • Public Protection Committee, which has powers in regards to noise, food storage, pet shops, etc.
  • Cllr Joanne Gardner has been appointed onto the following Fylde Borough Council Committees:
    • Audit & Governance Committee, ensuring financial and public accountability of the Council.
    • Internal Affairs Scrutiny Committee, which provides formal oversight of the Council's functions.

And on the Town and Parish Councils?:

  • Cllr Joanne Gardner, on St. Anne's Town Council, has been voted onto:
    • Town & Environment Network Group, involved in providing and upkeeping various artefacts around St. Anne's such as park benches, public works of art, etc.
    • Community And Neighbourhood Group, involved in staging many activities around St. Anne's such as Sounds in the Square, music festivals, Santa, etc.
    • Policy & Resources Committee, which conducts preliminary reviews of all proposed activities.
  • Cllr Stephen Phillips, on St. Anne's Town Council, has been voted onto:
    • Town & Environment Network Working Group, working alongside Cllr Joanne Gardner.
  • Cllr Phil Morgan continues to be Vice Chairman on Newton with Clifton Parish Council.

It's early days for this new Fylde Borough Council and Town/Parish Council administrations, but we will will ensure that we keep you up to date with all the goings-on!

This website uses cookies

Like most websites, this site uses cookies. Some are required to make it work, while others are used for statistical or marketing purposes. If you choose not to allow cookies some features may not be available, such as content from other websites. Please read our Cookie Policy for more information.

Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the website to function properly.
Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us to understand how our visitors use our website.
Marketing cookies are used by third parties or publishers to display personalized advertisements. They do this by tracking visitors across websites.